I Should Have Been…

I should have been MRS. VENUS today. I should be dancing. I should be celebrating. I should be screaming the best time of my life today…

PRE-NUPTIAL

Backstory. My boyfriend and I are in a long distance relationship. It’s not so long actually, it’s just one border away and a three-hour drive. We used to see each other regularly, for least once in a month. Everything was going on so well, until pandemic hit and restricted our movements.

He decided to propose to me virtually during the height of MECQ in Ilocos and Cagayan, where he couldn’t cross the border to come and personally ask for my hand. I was only seeing the ring from my screen and his face that is evidently showing how much he loves me and how much he wanted me to be his wife. I said YES in no doubts, no hesitations, no reservations.

And since November 25 is our anniversary as a couple, it became a common decision for us to do our wedding on the exact same day this year. We were so excited that we managed to work out our plans even when we were still apart. We had our parents’ blessing via virtual pamamanhikan and started talking to our wedding coordinator for all the necessary stuffs, up to the littlest details.

I moved to Ilocos in 1-month and 20-days ahead of our supposed big day. Then out of nowhere, my man surprised me with the actual ring being worn on my finger, as soon as I woke up and graduated from a 14-days isolation. Nothing fancy, just pure love and affection.

Fast forward. We were in the middle of a pre-nup shoot when he suddenly went down on his knees asking me (again) in his sweetest voice – Will you marry me?

Well, he actually asked me, prior to the shoot, if we could stage a proposal as part of our prenup photos, just because we didn’t really have a decent picture out of it. I willingly agreed and took off the ring from my finger, as he asked me to. What I didn’t know is that, he connived with the team for a perfect trick to do an actual proposal and have it captured in real action. Thus, the genuine facial reactions from  THE PROPOSAL video.

Click to watch 👉THE PROPOSAL

Every passing day gets us more and more excited, watching each morning bring us nearer and nearer to our most awaited one. I couldn’t be any happier checking all our stuffs ready – the wedding gowns, the venue, the invitations, the souvenirs, the menu, etc.

And then in just two days before my wedding day, I received a deafening news — my mom was rushed to the hospital, critical and needs to be transferred for ICU.

It breaks my heart so bad and my whole world fell apart!

In one snap, my beautiful story came frantically twisted. I silently wished that I was just watching a scene from a movie, but this felt more than real. It’s happening right before my eyes.

I stood there feeling so torn, watching my mom in horrible pain and looking at my groom in mixed emotions. I knew from that very moment, that I needed to make a decision.

Medz have known me to be the very family oriented one, that when our eyes met, we sure know that we were thinking just the same — Cancel invites. Cancel reception. Cancel catering. Cancel band. Cancel everything for the wedding.

PRE-NUPTIAL

It’s November 25 now and I should have been saying ‘I DO’ today. But I am right here in the corner, watching how my man is trying to be strong and be okay with everything, knowing that he waited for 6 long years to have me as his girlfriend and waited again for another 2 years until I was ready to be married. Today should have been the end of his waiting game, but he ended up here waiting, just yet again.

Yeah. This is supposedly my HAPPY ENDING story. But why do I feel like the universe is not allowing me to be happy, in love, at all? What have I done so wrong to deserve such another heartbreak?

I should have been MRS. VENUS today. I looked forward on this very day so much that I honestly don’t know how to feel right now….

“The wedding is just postponed, not cancelled.”

“We will wait for mommy, because I want you to be happy on our wedding day.”

“I am here to stay…”

“I love you very much!”

Those are the very words that my groom just keeps telling me, whenever he catches me silently crying.

And it’s truly commendable how he and his whole family has been very cooperative and understanding to this circumstance. They kept saying that it’s fine, but I really hope they are okay, because I’m not even sure if I’m okay.

For now, I am just fervently praying for my mom to be better. I love her so much and I don’t like seeing her in such a difficult situation…

4 Comments Add yours

  1. DGs says:

    Praying for you! Be strong! I hope you get your happy ending soon. This was such a moving piece, I’m so sorry you’re going through this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you.🥺
      I’d like to think that God has a purpose in all of these but the human in me still cries.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. JLP says:

    I hope you writing about this at least help you ease the pain of all that is happening. Hold on and things will get better. Praying with you.

    Like

    1. 🥺🥺🥺

      Like

Leave a comment